Officers and Committee Heads

RAC Officers, Staff, and Committee Heads

The Raleigh Astronomy Club (RAC) is a North Carolina 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation based in Raleigh, NC, USA. The organization has a number of officers and committee heads to help facilitate the club’s mission. All positions are completely voluntary and members serve in these positions for the benefit of the club and the public with no compensation.


The officers serve as the board of directors for the Raleigh Astronomy Club and are elected for annual term every June. The officers for 2021-2022 are:

Co-chair (Executive Officer): Mike Keefe

    Co-chair (Executive Officer): Ana Vail
    Co-chair (Executive Officer): Naveen Malik
    Secretary: Steven Blake
    Treasurer: Steve Izzo
Special Interest Group Leaders

The special interest groups are focused on a particular aspect of amateur astronomy and meet separately from the main body of the club.

    Imaging/Astrophotography Leader: Chris Cole
Committee Heads

Certain activities are managed by committees of volunteers and the officers will appoint a person to head that committee.

Web Master:  Barton Meeks

 Public Information: Doug Lively

Social Media Director: Ana Vail 

Astronomical League Coordinator: Doug Lively     

Loaner Telescope Committee Head: Michael Keefe

Public Observing/Outreach Committee Head: Matt Lochansky

Audio/Visual Committee Head: Dana Bostic

RAC is a non profit organization

Please send general inquiries to [email protected]

Member Login
Social Networks

Proud Member of

Astronomical League

Night Sky Network

We Support

Dark Skies